Creating and editing repositories¶
What’s in this document?
In GraphDB you can have an unlimited number of repositories. The list of all available repositories is available at .
Tip
Mousing over the icons to the right of each repository name shows what each icon does. (Their activities are described further below.)
Note
Having more than five repositories requires a GraphDB Enterprise or Standard license. All GraphDB, Ontop, and FedX repositories count toward this maximum of five. If you create a sixth one with GraphDB Free, you will see the following in the upper right of Workbench to indicate that you are in a restricted mode:
When you are in this restricted mode, the only thing you will be able to do with these repositories is export their data until you either upgrade to GraphDB Enterprise or delete all but five repositories.
Creating a repository¶
You can create and manage repositories either through the GraphDB Workbench or by using the RDF4J console.
Note
You can also create a repository programmatically from a file by using the configuration template that can be found under /configs/templates in the GraphDB distribution.
Using Workbench¶
Navigate to to open the list of available repositories. Keep in mind the list may be empty.
Select Create new repository.
Select GraphDB Repository and then fill out the Create GraphDB repository form. The documentation page Configure a repository through the GraphDB Workbench describes the fields on this form.
Warning
If you want to encrypt your data at a repository level, you must select the to enable encryption while creating the repository. However, once a repository has been set as encrypted, it can no longer be changed to unencrypted, and vice-versa (an unencrypted repository cannot be changed to encrypted). Check the full documentation on Encryption at rest for more information.
Tip
On the Repositories screen shown above, if any repositories are listed, clicking the icon on the row for one of them will let you edit that repository’s configuration using the same form.
If you have attached remote locations to your GraphDB instance, there will be an additional field for specifying the Location in which you want to create the repository. The default is Local. See more about creating a repository in a remote location a little further below.
Tip
For repositories with over several tens of millions of statements, see the configuration parameters.
Select Create. Your newly created repository appears in the repository list.
Creating a repository in a remote location¶
If your local copy of GraphDB is attached to a remote instance and you have write permission on that remote instance, you can create a repository there. See Creating a repository on an attached remote GraphDB location for more information.
Connecting to a repository¶
There are two ways to connect to one of the listed repositories through the GraphDB Workbench.
Note
The label in the top right corner of a remote repository indicates whether you are connected to it.
You can connect to a repository by selecting its name from the Choose repository drop-down list in the upper right of the GraphDB Workbench or by clicking the Connect repository icon to the left of its name. The icon will change to
Connected repository, and the repository’s name will be displayed in the upper right. This allows you to easily switch between repositories while running queries or importing and exporting data in other views. Hovering over a repository’s name on the dropdown menu will also display some basic information about it.
Alternatively, you can navigate to to open the list of all available repositories, and on the Connect repository icon next to the name of the repository that you want to connect to.
Restarting a repository¶
There are two ways to restart a repository without having to restart the entire GraphDB instance:
Click the
Restart repository icon next to the repository’s name on the Repositories screen. A warning will prompt you to confirm the action.
Click the
Edit repository icon next to a repository’s name to edit its configuration. At the bottom of the screen, tick the , save, and confirm.
Warning
Restarting the repository will shut it down immediately, and all running queries and updates will be cancelled.
